AR’s end of Summer series 5K – running with our #community

sb1stokesbay1Before and after, 17 Crusaders in total.

Last night was a case of “we run on the road” rather than my usual irunoffroad and a great night it was too. I read that keeping some speed work up would help your marathon training so after only 7 of our Crusaders ran this Absolute Running (AR) 5K last month I tried to rally some more away from a standard club night down to Stokes Bay. I’m pleased to say we managed 17 which I think is a number much more befitting the time and effort Nick from AR and his marshals put in.

As we assembled in the registration area it was clear to see a good 200 runners were there on the night and there were numerous local club vests in evidence as well as unattached runners. There certainly was a great atmosphere with much chatter between members of each club. The clouds overhead were becoming darker and rain looked a good possibility but there was no dampening of enthusiasm as we left the starting car park.

The route is an outward stretch that then combines two loops, followed by retracing  your steps back to the finish. A colourful line of T shirts and vests soon offset the dark skies. I think we’d all say a 5K is one of those events were your lungs are given a good work out, and this, I kept telling myself, would do me good on my longer runs. The backdrop of the sun going down over the Isle of White is a feature not too many races could beat and before you know it the last 100 meters push was upon me and it’s all or nothing for the line. My time was 23.37 and the two photos below show the great “NiceWork” medal as well as Kerry’s “atmospheric clouds”.

Well done to all my Fareham Crusader friends (in race finishing order) Paul,Lee,Mark,Me,Nikki,Mick,Martin,Karen,Liz,Emma,Ros,Sarah,Kerry,Sue,Chris,Liz and Lyndsey. Two PB’s that I was aware of were Mark and Kerry and an age category winning Liz Farquarson also wrapped up the series category award.

After a team photo on the beach it was either off home or indoors to the Bayside café for a chat, the results (Tom Barnard picked up one) and maybe a drink 🙂 There wasn’t a spare seat indoors and this kind of local involvement was a fitting tribute to the “all club” #community vibe that the race had. Finally it was also good to chat to some new Crusaders I haven’t met before #unstoppable 🙂

DSCF4257kerry

Leave a comment