Race to the King : 53.5 miles, 12 Hours & 1 Big smile

DSC00482

Race to the King (RTTK) is a trail running challenge from Slindon to Winchester. The route was 53.5 miles along predominantly the South Downs Way (SDW), which also meant 5,200 feet of elevation. I think it’s fair to say that the longest day might have been last week but Saturday was certainly mine and everyone else’s. There are so many people and places that I’d like to mention so bear with me, get comfortable, and I’ll be begin.

My journey up to this point has involved a lot of preparation and planning but most of all the sheer enjoyment of trail running. It seems fitting that my trail running buddy Paul Coates and I are in the first photo because we’ve put a lot of time and effort into getting to the start line. At this point I’d like to thank Paul for all his help, everyone who has sponsored me for the Walking with the Wounded charity, Β£375, and all the good luck messages.

After a 4.45am alarm call myself, Paul, Dave, Lucy and Kate (all Fareham Crusaders) set off at 6am for Slindon. On arrival we had the first of our many positive impressions from the RTTK organisation. A huge marquee, lots of toilets and friendly staff welcoming us. This photo shows all of the above mentioned as well as Paul Southon but not Thom Dillon who was another Crusader I’d come across later.

DSC00478

Also running today were our friends Phil and Teresa from Second Wind Running, a great local running outfit, I borrowed this next photo from them, so thanks for that. Phil was 30th overall (9.20) and first in his age category, Teresa was 4th in her category (10.40) fantastic times for two real “givers” to our local running community.

swr

Now, 53.5 miles and 9 hours 20 minutes I hear you cry, what did the winner run it in ?? Profeet‘s Jack Blackburn ran an amazing 7.13 !! (OMG) It was also great to have a chat with Perfect Pickles from twitter, sorry I can’t remember your first name as my brain isn’t working 100% yet !!

DSC00483

Conditions were perfect for us with an overcast but humid day that would offer refreshing drizzle at times and thankfully no real sunshine to worry about. Hydration was clearly going to be a major part of the strategy so it was a huge relief that the weather was kind to us. I used two 500ml soft flasks and refilled them both at every aid station with electrolyte tablets.

I’m not that familiar with the first 8 miles or so but as we headed North for 3 miles and then looped around towards Gratton Beacon for another 5 miles all we seemed to be doing was going up !! Paul and I were running conservatively and when there was any doubt we walked, so as to save energy for later. The first feed station was at 7.9 miles and we were treated to portaloos, numerous snack options, plenty of water and a rousing welcome. Buoyed by the prospect of this being the case for the remaining aid stations we headed off with an extra spring in our stride.

dsc00483d

By 10 miles we’d crossed the A285 and my recollections from the South Downs marathon of 2 years ago meant I knew where we were and this also meant 43 miles of course knowledge to come (yes we’d done our homework !!) This also meant a long gradual hill through the crops that came flooding back to me !! Our pace was “steady” as we ran along the top of the Downs making sure to keep an eye on the chalk and loose gravel that characterises this area. I didn’t take many photos because I was concentrating on the matter at hand and ultimately there’s lots in my training blogs.

We chatted to out fellow runners on our way and as we started the descent towards the A285, and Cocking, we knew the second aid station and the long tarmac road that climbs back up to the Downs was approaching. What we didn’t expect was our friend Cat Underwood, she greeted us with her usual enthusiasm !! Hugs were exchanged and off we set. Thanks Cat ….. you’re a star πŸ™‚

car

The route out of the feed station meant a long gradual walk, after all we still had 38 miles to go. Our “steady start” strategy was working well but I did get the sense Paul was holding back. By the time we reached the Monkton estate and tree cover we’d had more drizzle but again it was refreshing so no jackets were needed. The 20 mile alarm on my garmin was a pleasant surprise because I’d hardly looked at it and that was after nearly four hours πŸ™‚ I remember thinking “my god” four hours, a third of the way potentially.

Around this point we unexpectedly ran up Beacon Hill (the first one to avoid confusion) we’ve never run up this because it’s quite technical coming down the other side. As feedback for next year I think this was a mistake because with 20 miles in your legs they can run away with you and sure enough I fell over. Luckily it was my pride and a graze on my elbow but I don’t imagine I was the only one who fell. By now Paul was disappearing into the distance but I figured the 3rd aid station wasn’t far away at 23.4 miles. Harting Down was next and then we headed South towards base camp and half way.

DSC00444

Once again we were greeted with help and cheer, I decided to eat a plate of pasta, bread and rice which took about ten minutes, I’d briefly seen Paul but he was keen to crack on and I wished him well. So, every now and then as runners we have a “moment”, it dawned on me that there were still 29 miles to go but in a funny way running on my own meant I was more in control, I smiled with that thought in mind and said to myself “this is where the run really begins”.

The next 6 or so miles took us through narrow lanes skirting around Butser and then as I ran through QECP there it was, the highest point on the SDW. I marched up Butser trying not to let it beat me and then I had an inspired moment, why not text a few people seeing as I was walking. This worked really well because it took my mind off the gradient and also updated my loved ones that I’d managed 30 miles.

DSC00429

As the top of Butser Hill I had another hug from Cat and she said Paul was at least ten minutes ahead. Feed station 4 was a significant one because along with the oranges, melon, water and snacks was the thought that the miles between them would now get shorter πŸ™‚ Previously it had been roughly every 8 miles, it was now 6 to Old Winchester Hill (OWH).

Both my legs and feet were bearing up well at this point and my concentration was aimed at trying to keep my average pace under 13 minute miles. The scenery is amazing along the South Downs and it all seemed quite unreal when I looked at my watch and saw 8 hours on it. The furthest I’ve run is 36 miles so it was new and exciting territory.

After leaving the OWH feed station I caught up Thom Dillion from our club, we had a chat, wished each other well and I pressed on down the hill which has lots of tree roots so care was needed. Joining the old railway line briefly I was starting to feel a couple of my toes were sore after the downhill section and my left thigh was tightening. I rubbed deep heat on my thigh and even though this meant stopping it did mean I had 3 other runners to tackle Beacon Hill for company (the second one πŸ™‚ ) We walked a good proportion of it but chatting really helped, not that my spirits were low but just for some variety.

Reaching the trig point at 42 miles was a massive relief because that was the last big hill and I knew the remaining trail well.

I got quite emotional when my watch said 43 miles because that meant I was down to single figures. We’d worked out before hand that 13.5 minute miles were needed for a 12 hour finish. I was at about 10 hours now and still surprisingly bobbling along even if slowly. As long as I was running it kept my goal in sight.

The last aid station was at 46 miles and Cheesefoot Head was approaching. This was significant because it was a gradual climb but at 50 miles you see Winchester for the first time.

When my 50 mile alarm went off I have to admit a tear came to my eye, it was all downhill or flat now and even with some stomach issues and some walking due to that, I knew I could savour the moment because I was going too finish. The bridge over the motorway said 1 mile to go, the streets of Winchester were fantastic to see after hours of quite trails. I knew the road around Winchester Cathedral and as I ran my last100 metres to the finish, there it was, the Cathedral and the finish line.

DSCOO483B

Those 3 steps were taken with care and it was all done. What does 53.5 miles feel like ???

dsc00483g

This photo from pic2go sums it up !! Thanks for the photos πŸ™‚

It’s only when you stop that you realise what you have achieved.

dsc00483f

219th out of 581 (some would have been walkers) I decided to let myself off the 6 minutes and 18 seconds that I was over my target πŸ™‚ I felt fantastic, proud and shattered.

DSC00485The great medal was then followed by the realisation I had to walk about a mile to the train station !! I missed the 8.19 so had to wait for the 9.19 but to be honest sitting down for 50 odd minutes was lovely. The train took me to Fareham and another 10 minute walk but this probably did my legs a favour. I was becoming aware of toe pains but three small blisters were an acceptable price to pay.

We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world and having The South Downs Way only 12 miles away means we can enjoy running parts of todays 53 miles again in the future.

Well done to Paul (10.59), a great time, as well as all the other Fareham Crusader runners and everyone that was brave enough to enter. Thanks to all my twitter and ukrunchat friends for their messages and support too. If you haven’t discovered trail running yet, give it a go, it’s beautiful.

Thanks to “Race to the King” and everyone that has supported me in my quest to achieve a double marathon.

In short, you can achieve so much, if you just “believe”.

January 2019 Update

I’ve entered RTTK 2019 June 22nd …. can’t wait !!

Many thanks …. Roger

 

10 thoughts on “Race to the King : 53.5 miles, 12 Hours & 1 Big smile

  1. Tom Hallett (@thomashallett) June 27, 2017 / 12:30 pm

    Inspirational, Roger! I’d love to be able to do Race to the King. Unfortunately, I did my back in a couple of weeks ago so I’m back to square one after managing 17 miles a few weeks’ back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • irunoffroad June 27, 2017 / 7:19 pm

      Hope that gets sorted soon Tom. It was a great day πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Keith Egerton July 1, 2017 / 8:01 pm

    Congratulations Roger on your Race to the King. A very inspirational piece writing. To show that if you have the desire and drive. That you or anyone can achieve that distance and more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. matttbod July 27, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    Bit late to the game, but great read and great achievement. I have registered my interest for next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • irunoffroad July 27, 2017 / 5:25 pm

      Thanks Matt, yes it was a memorable day πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Paul Coates August 12, 2017 / 8:26 am

    Top write up Roger. It is a wonderful race and I would totally recommend it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment